Logistic News - PLANTOUR Special

PLANTOUR Release 2021

Due to the ongoing corona pandemic you have not heard from us for some time. We have used the time and bundled our resources to take PLANTOUR to a new level. The result is the new PLANTOUR Release 2021.

Never before have we included so many new features, functions and revisions in a version update as this time. These we would like to introduce to you briefly below.

Of course you can also contact our support team. We will be happy to show you the new features and arrange an update appointment with you.

What has been improved?

One can justifiably claim almost everything. We have improved or simplified, completely revised or replaced several areas in PLANTOUR. All with the goal of making the software easier, more functional and more attractive. We think we have succeeded in this.

The main innovations can be summarized as follows:

  • New look and feel and new user experience

  • New optimization algorithm: POS (PASS Optimizer Service)

  • Extensive improvement in routing and distance calculation

  • Improvements in the field of geocoding and coordinate mapping

  • Moving to the Cloud: PLANTOUR in cooperation with MAPSERVICES

  • Many professional and technical improvements

New look and feel

At this point pictures say more than a thousand words:

The new PLANTOUR layout brings a breath of fresh air! It consists of a straightforward design, new icons and modern colors as well as clearly structured menus. Another highlight are the new maps with much more details, including building geometries.

Also the administration has become easier. The Enterprise Manager is completely merged with PLANTOUR and users with administrator rights have the functions automatically integrated in the software. This not only saves time but also server capacity.

New optimization service POS

We have already introduced it in several newsletters, now it is available in the current PLANTOUR version: our new algorithm PASS Optimization Service (POS).

It works strictly cost-based and allows you to control your optimization goal in a fine-grained way. While the previous algorithms, such as savings, had a relatively rigid priority regarding optimization by distance or time, the new POS allows individual control via cost rates. This means that you control an optimal tour: as fast as possible, as short as possible, as few vehicles as possible, etc.)

Regardless of this, the new POS also offers many functions that the existing algorithms do not have on the feature list: Pickup & Delivery, more options for break regulation, individual consideration of the fleet in terms of costs and restrictions, etc.

More details, more overview

In the past the PLANTOUR map stopped at D-A-CH and the roads were the end of the detail level. The new PLANTOUR maps were created with love for detail. Our software now shows the world, individual buildings, a more detailed railroad network, and an improved representation of water areas and forest areas.

Of course, the world map does not only work in the display, but is also used in route optimization (appropriate server dimensioning is assumed).

Improved route planning

Until now, several steps in the form of network calculation and coordinate intersection were necessary before the actual planning. This is now a thing of the past. From now on all this happens automatically or is calculated in real time. Addresses are automatically "snapped" to the next street to the nearest meter, driving distances are calculated to the second. Thus, PLANTOUR has become "CEP-capable", i.e. entire streets can be planned with meter accuracy. Building geometries and coordinate snapping are particularly helpful in graphical geocoding to ensure the exact location.

 

In addition, the treatment of restrictions has been considerably extended. Checks for passage restrictions are now much more efficient and alternative routes can be found more easily. When planning with restrictions, the dispatcher receives detailed information whether a stop can generally not be approached because there are restrictions on the route, or whether the destination is located on a restricted road and only the last meters to the delivery point are problematic (see image).

Historical traffic data in the map profile

Speeds and journey times are now much more accurate, as historical data regarding speed and traffic flow are included for each road section at 5-minute intervals, and not just the maximum permitted speed as was previously the case. This means that profiles for rush hour or night traffic can be generated and travel times calculated much more accurately.

Furthermore, restrictions can be controlled much more fine-grained. In general, certain restrictions are avoided and only used when necessary. PLANTOUR navigates on the shortest way out of pedestrian zones and only enters them if the destination is within these zones.

Better geocoding via POIs

It is certainly a great help for chain stores or direct suppliers to be able to use an extensive POI library for geocoding automatically. Simply enter the name of the discount store, shopping mall or company in the customer base. Geocoding uses this information for easier location. Airport codes can also be used for searching.

Location optimization with delivery frequencies

There are also innovations in the location optimization module: We now take delivery frequencies into account , a feature that is often requested and desired. Here, too, a picture is worth a thousand words: On the left picture, both times a delivery frequency of 1, on the right picture a ratio of 10 to 1.

Technical innovations

Here, too, we have introduced optimizations that are not only relevant for the administrator. The most important innovation is that PLANTOUR can now also pull map data, route planning and geocoding from the cloud up to the optimization service. For this we have linked PLANTOUR with our MAPSERVICES. This has the advantage that we take care of updating the map data in the background and that they automatically work with the latest algorithms and data. Your PLANTOUR data such as customer, orders and tours remain with you.

Your benefit: If you use our cloud services, you can operate PLANTOUR with a smaller server in the future.

Moreover, a lot has changed under the hood: Simplified and faster installations, latest open source base technologies (using Open JDK instead of Oracle) and an improved client installer; which brings its own Java Runtime and thus avoids conflicts with local versions, are only some highlights.

Logistic News – PLANTOUR Spezial

PLANTOUR Release 2021

Aufgrund der anhaltenden Corona-Pandemie haben Sie einige Zeit nichts von uns gehört. Wir haben die Zeit genutzt und unsere Ressourcen gebündelt, um PLANTOUR auf ein neues Level zu heben. Entstanden ist das neue PLANTOUR Release 2021.

Noch nie haben wir in ein Versionsupdate so viele neue Features, Funktionen und Überarbeitungen eingebracht wie dieses Mal. Diese möchten wir Ihnen nachfolgend kurz vorstellen.

Selbstverständlich können Sie sich auch bei unserem Support melden, gerne zeigen wir Ihnen die neuen Funktionen und vereinbaren mit Ihnen einen Updatetermin.

Was wurde alles verbessert?

Man kann mit Fug und Recht behaupten, fast alles. Wir haben diverse Bereiche in PLANTOUR verbessert bzw. vereinfacht, komplett überarbeitet oder ersetzt. Alles mit dem Ziel, die Software einfacher, funktionaler und ansprechender zu gestalten. Wir denken, das ist uns gut geglückt.

Die wesentlichen Neuerungen lassen sich wie folgt zusammenfassen:

  • Neues Look-and-feel und neue User Experience

  • Neuer Optimierungsalgorithmus: POS (PASS Optimizer Service)

  • Umfangreiche Verbesserung bei Routing- und Distanzberechnung

  • Verbesserungen im Bereich der Geocodierung und der Koordinatenzuordnung

  • Es geht in die Cloud: PLANTOUR im Zusammenspiel mit MAPSERVICES

  • Viele fachliche und technische Verbesserungen

Neues Look-and-feel

An dieser Stelle sagen Bilder mehr als tausend Worte:

Das neue PLANTOUR Layout sorgt für frischen Wind! Es besteht aus einem geradlinigen Design, neuen Icons und modernen Farben sowie klar strukturierten Menüs. Ein weiteres Highlight sind die neuen Karten mit viel mehr Details u.a. bis hin zu Gebäudegeometrien.

Auch die Administration ist einfacher geworden. Der Enterprise Manager ist komplett mit PLANTOUR verschmolzen und Nutzer mit Administratorrechten haben die Funktionen automatisch in der Software integriert. Das spart nicht nur Zeit, sondern auch Serverkapazität.

Neuer Optimierungsservice POS

Wir haben ihn bereits in einigen Newslettern vorgestellt, nun ist er in der aktuellen PLANTOUR Version verfügbar: unser neuer Algorithmus PASS Optimization Service (POS).

Dieser arbeitet streng kostenbasiert und erlaubt Ihnen so eine feingranulare Steuerung Ihres Optimierungsziels. Während die bisherigen Algorithmen, wie z.B. Savings, eine relativ starre Priorität bzgl. Optimierung nach Strecke oder Zeit hatten, erlaubt der neue POS eine individuelle Steuerung über die Kostensätze. Das bedeutet, Sie steuern damit eine optimale Tour: möglichst schnell, möglichst kurz, möglichst wenig Fahrzeuge usw.

Unabhängig davon bietet der neue POS auch viele Funktionen, welche die bestehenden Algorithmen nicht auf der Featureliste haben: Pickup & Delivery, mehr Optionen bei der Pausenregelung, individuelle Berücksichtigung des Fuhrparks bzgl. Kosten wie auch Restriktionen usw.

Mehr Details, mehr Übersicht

Früher hörte die PLANTOUR Karte bei D-A-CH auf und die Straßen waren das Ende des Detaillevels. Die neuen PLANTOUR Karten wurden mit Liebe zum Detail erstellt. Unsere Software zeigt jetzt die Welt, einzelne Gebäude, ein detaillierteres Eisenbahnnetz sowie eine verbesserte Darstellung der Wasserflächen und Waldgebiete.

Natürlich funktioniert die Weltkarte nicht nur in der Anzeige, sondern wird auch in der Tourenoptimierung genutzt (entsprechende Serverdimensionierung wird vorausgesetzt).

Verbesserte Routenberechnung

Bisher waren vor dem eigentlichen Planen mehrere Schritte in Form von Netzberechnung und Koordinate-Kreuzung notwendig. Dies gehört jetzt der Vergangenheit an. Ab sofort passiert dies alles automatisiert oder wird in Echtzeit berechnet. Adressen werden automatisch auf die nächste Straße metergenau „gesnappt“, Fahrstrecken sekundengenau berechnet. Somit wurde PLANTOUR „KEP-fähig“, d.h., es können ganze Straßenzüge metergenau verplant werden. Vor allem bei der grafischen Geocodierung helfen Gebäudegeometrien und das Koordinaten-Snapping, um exakt die richtige Verortung vorzunehmen.

 

Des Weiteren wurde die Behandlung von Restriktionen erheblich erweitert. Prüfungen auf Durchfahrtsbeschränkungen erfolgen nun viel effizienter und Ausweichrouten werden besser gefunden. Wird mit Restriktionen geplant, erhält der Disponent detaillierte Informationen, ob ein Stopp generell nicht angefahren werden kann, da auf der Route Beschränkungen existieren, oder ob das Ziel an einer durchfahrtsbeschränkten Straße liegt und nur die letzten Meter zur Anlieferstelle problematisch sind (siehe Abbildung).

Historische Verkehrsdaten im Kartenprofil

Geschwindigkeiten und Fahrtdauern sind nun viel genauer, da für jeden Straßenabschnitt historische Daten bzgl. Geschwindigkeit und Verkehrsfluss im 5-Minuten-Takt einbezogen werden und nicht wie bisher nur die erlaubte Höchstgeschwindigkeit. Somit lassen sich Profile für Rushhour oder Nachtverkehr erzeugen und Fahrzeiten viel exakter berechnen.

Weiterhin können Restriktionen viel feingranularer gesteuert werden. Generell ist es so, dass gewisse Restriktionen vermieden und nur, wenn notwendig genutzt werden. PLANTOUR navigiert auf kürzestem Weg aus Fußgängerzonen heraus und fährt auch nur herein, wenn das Ziel innerhalb dieser liegt.

Bessere Geocodierung über POIs

Für Filialisten oder Direktbelieferer ist es sicherlich eine große Hilfe, nun auch automatisch eine umfangreiche POI-Bibliothek zur Geocodierung nutzen zu können. Dazu einfach den Namen der Discounter-Filiale, der Shopping Mall oder der Firma im Kundenstamm hinterlegen. Die Geocodierung nutzt diese Information zur einfacheren Verortung. Auch Flughafencodes können zur Suche genutzt werden.

Standortoptimierung mit Lieferfrequenzen

Im Modul Standortoptimierung gibt es ebenfalls Neuerungen: Wir berücksichtigen nun Lieferfrequenzen, ein oft nachgefragtes und gewünschtes Feature. Auch hier sagt ein Bild mehr als tausend Worte: Auf dem linken Bild beides Mal eine Lieferfrequenz von 1, auf dem rechten Bild ein Verhältnis von 10 zu 1.

Technische Neuerungen

Auch hier haben wir Optimierungen eingeführt, welche nicht nur für den Administrator relevant sind. Die wichtigste Neuerung ist, dass PLANTOUR nun auch die Kartendaten, Routenberechnung und Geocodierung bis zum Optimierungsservice aus der Cloud ziehen kann. Hierfür haben wir PLANTOUR mit unseren MAPSERVICES verknüpft. Dies hat den Vorteil, dass wir uns im Hintergrund um die Aktualisierung der Kartendaten kümmern und Sie automatisch mit den neuesten Algorithmen und Daten arbeiten. Ihre PLANTOUR Daten wie Kunde, Aufträge und Touren bleiben weiterhin bei Ihnen im Haus.

Ihr Benefit: Wenn Sie unsere Cloud-Dienste nutzen, können Sie PLANTOUR zukünftig auch mit einem kleiner dimensionierten Server betreiben.

Zudem hat sich unter der Haube viel verändert: Vereinfachte und schnellere Installationen, aktuellste Open-Source-Basistechnologien (Verwendung von Open JDK statt Oracle) und ein verbesserter Client-Installer; welcher seine eigene Java Runtime mitbringt und so Konflikte mit lokalen Versionen vermeidet, sind nur einige Highlights.